How to Report Elder Abuse in Florida

Florida Law requires that any person who knows or suspects that a vulnerable adult has been or is being abused, neglected or exploited shall immediately report such knowledge or suspicion to the Florida Abuse Hotline on the toll-free phone number, 1-800-96-ABUSE (1-800-962-2873). Calls are accepted 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The Abuse Hotline counselor is required to let the person calling know if an investigation will be conducted by Adult Protective Services.
Vulnerable adults are persons 18 years or older who, because of their age or disability, may be unable to adequately provide for their own care or protection.

Abuse can be physical, mental, emotional or sexual.

Neglect can be self-neglect or neglect by a caregiver. A caregiver may be a family member, an in-home paid worker, a staff person of a program or facility providing care, or another person.

Exploitation means that a person in a position of trust knowingly, by deception or intimidation, obtains and uses or tries to obtain and use a vulnerable person’s funds, assets or property. This includes failure to use the vulnerable person’s income and assets to provide for the necessities required for that person’s care.

WEB REPORTING:

Web reporting should not be used for situations requiring immediate attention.  Please contact the Hotline’s toll free reporting number if you believe a child or vulnerable adult is at imminent risk of harm.

To make a report via the Florida Abuse Hotline’s web reporting option, please gather all of your information in advance and click the following link to access the web reporting option:

http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/abuse/report/

Guide for Reporting On-line.

By |2010-12-26T12:56:26+00:00December 26th, 2010|Categories: Elder Law, Senior Lifestyles|Tags: , |0 Comments